skip to Main Content

Don’t pave 10.

A significant portion of Canal Shores’ 10th hole is in danger of being paved over for the benefit of the Keefe Family Trust (Trust) associated with real estate developer, Dick Keefe Development Corporation. Canal Shores needs your immediate support to defeat an easement request for a road across the 10th hole.

The Trust is being assisted by Springfield politician and attorney John Cullerton, who is president of the Illinois Senate. The easement involves the use of public land for the benefit of a private landowner.

In addition to destroying the 10th hole tee area and much of the fairway, the easement would permanently harm Canal Shores’ most ecologically sensitive area, which includes multiple century-old oak trees and three wetlands. One of the wetlands would be paved over.  The other two wetlands would be negatively affected. This easement would also greatly harm one of the most aesthetic holes at Canal Shores and reduce valuable green space.

On behalf of the Trust, the Cook County Department of Transportation and Highways (Cook County) is requesting the easement from the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District (MWRD).  The requested easement would be approximately 60’ wide x 300’ long and used to access a parcel that the Trust owns.  The parcel lies north of Isabella in Evanston and south of Maple Ave. in Wilmette just on the east side of the CTA tracks.   The easement containing the roadway would run south from Maple Ave.

Canal Shores is Adamantly Opposed to a Paved Roadway on the 10th Hole.

Here’s How You Can Help!

If you oppose the use of public land for private benefit, impairment of an entire golf hole, or destruction of important ecological areas, please take prompt action on behalf of Canal Shores:

  • Contact MWRD commissioners who will vote on the easement request to voice your opposition. Their contact information and a sample email are found below.
  • Attend the MWRD meeting on October 18th at 10:30 a.m. when commissioners will vote on the easement to voice your opposition (100 E. Erie, Chicago, date to be confirmed).
  • The Wilmette Park District voted on October 10th to oppose the easement. Thank you for reaching out to contact them and express your opinion. Click here to read the WPD Resolution from October 10
  • Spread the word about the threat to Canal Shores and forward this email to all who may be inclined to contact MWRD and voice their opposition to this roadway.
  • Keep abreast of developments on the Canal Shores website, canalshores.org/dontpave10.

The proposed easement harms not only golfers, but everyone who uses Canal Shores for walking dogs, watching birds, walking, jogging, and cross-country skiing.

Thank you for supporting Canal Shores in opposing an easement that would destroy the 10th hole and harm the ecological habitat of the area!

Additional Background

  • According to John Cullerton’s 2018 “Statement Of Economic Interests” filed with the Secretary of State, Cullerton has an ownership interest in Dick Keefe Development Corporation.
  • The width of the proposed easement is approximately the size of the Central Street bridge in Evanston or approximately size of the Michigan Avenue bridge roadway in Chicago and the length of a football field! Zoning laws require a road large enough to accommodate emergency vehicles.
  • MWRD owns the land on which Canal Shores operates and leases the relevant portion to WPD, which in turn subleases it to Canal Shores.
  • The Trust’s parcel has been landlocked for an extended period of time.

Sincerely,

Chris Carey

President, Canal Shores

president@canalshores.org

 

MWRD Commissioners Contact Information

Mariyana T. Spyropoulos        President                              (312) 751-5650        Mariyana.Spyropoulos@mwrd.org

Barbara J. McGowan               Vice President                    (312) 751-5640                  Barbara.McGowan@mwrd.org

Frank Avila                                Chairman of Finance          (312) 751-5620                  Frank.Avila@mwrd.org

Kenneth Dunkin                        Commissioner                   (312) 751-5465                  Ken.Dunkin@mwrd.org

Martin J. Durkan                      Commissioner                    (312) 751-5490                  Martin.Durkan@mwrd.org

Josina Morita                           Commissioner                    (312) 751-5080                  Josina.Morita@mwrd.org

Debra Shore                              Commissioner                    (312) 751-5690                  Debra.Shore@mwrd.org

Kari K. Steele                            Commissioner                    (312) 751-5694                  Kari.Steele@mwrd.org

David J. Walsh                          Commissioner                    (312) 751-5701                  David.Walsh@mwrd.org

 

Wilmette Park District  Commissioners Contact Information

Amy Wolfe President awolfe@wilpark.org
Shelley S. Shelly Vice President sshelly@wilpark.org
Bryan Abbott   babbott@wilpark.org
Stephanie Foster   sfoster@wilpark.org
Ryrie Pellaton   rpellaton@wilpark.org
I Gordon Anderson   ganderson@wilpark.org
John Olvany   jolvany@wilpark.org

 

Sample Email To Copy And Paste

I am writing to voice my strong opposition to a request for a 60’ wide x 300’ long easement, and any subsequent easement, for a paved roadway on Canal Shores Golf Course’s 10th hole in Wilmette. Please REJECT this request when it soon comes before you.

The proposed easement would destroy the 10th hole, harm important ecological areas, reduce valuable green space, and unfairly convert public land for private use.

We hope you will oppose this easement and support the voters who are golfers, neighbors, dog walkers, nature lovers, walkers, joggers, birders, cross-country skiers and everyone else who enjoys the open space and the wildlife of Canal Shores.

Thank you for your continued attention to this matter.

Respectfully submitted,

[Your Name Here]

Translate »
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM
YOUTUBE
GOLFADVISOR